Microsoft Stream - Permissions & Privacy

Overview

When you record in Microsoft Teams, the recordings are automatically stored in Microsoft Stream.

Microsoft Stream is like Acadia's own YouTube. In order to view videos you have to be logged in and have access to the video.  

Viewing permissions are the result of a combination of inherited permissions at the video level, which includes group/team membership, meeting participants, how the meeting was scheduled, and if/how the video gets shared when the meeting/class is over. With the wrong combination or choices, what should be a private recording can become public.

  1. Go to https://office365.acadiau.ca, log in with your Acadia email address, 
  2. Select All Apps, 
  3. Select Stream. 

In this article you will discover

  • Permissions when you upload a video to Stream. 
  • How to change viewing permissions on current recordings you have. 
  • How to prevent making recordings go public moving forward. 

Instructions - Uploading a Video to Stream

Microsoft Stream automatically stores any videos you record in Microsoft Teams,  but you can also upload videos the same way you do in YouTube. 

There are different ways of uploading a video, and they may set different permissions.  

Uploading from any page 

If you simply click the upload button from the top navigation bar or the “My Videos” page, by default, the video is unpublished: you are the owner of the video, and no one can see it but you. You are the owner of the video. 

Upload to a group or channel 

Stream includes groups (similar to other social media apps) and channels. “Channels” in Stream are similar to playlists or channels in YouTube. Your Stream based channels do not correspond to your channels in Microsoft Teams. Stream channels do not have their own privacy settings, chat features, etc. 

Adding a video to a companywide (public) channel will mean anyone can have access. Adding a video to a group channel (which may be private) will limit access to only the members of that group. Adding your video to multiple channels will result in in having the permissions of the most open channel

Companywide channels: 
  • You own the video, but it will automatically be published in the channel to which you are uploading. For example,  you add a video to a companywide “Varsity Athletics” channel. Everyone at Acadia will be able to see the video if they go to the Varsity Athletics channel. 

Group channels or groups: 
  • Everyone in the group is the owner of the video: others can edit and modify it. The video will automatically be published in the group or channel to which you are uploading. For example, you add a video to a “Welcome Week” group channel. Anyone who is part of the Welcome Week group or group channel can automatically see the video and change it, but it is not available to everyone at Acadia.  

Instructions - Change Who Can View a Video 

Click  on  'My Content' to see videos that: 

  • you have recorded in Microsoft Teams 
  • you have uploaded 
  • others have shared with you  

Each video will have an icon next to it to show if access is limited (yellow) or companywide (green).  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Check or change who has access to your video: 

From your list of videos, select edit (the pencil icon)

From a video page, select “…” below the video and then “Edit video details”

You’ll see a permissions panel which gives you the ability to edit details

  • If you select the checkbox “Allow everyone in your company to view this video”, any student, faculty, or staff member can view this video.
    • With few exceptions, you will not want to select this option.
    • Be especially careful to ensure that you have not selected this option if your video contains confidential or proprietary material.  

  • You can share your video with individual peoplegroups (such as mailing groups or a Team), or a Stream channel

  • If your video is a recording from Microsoft Teams, it will default to the permissions of that Team.
  • If it was recorded in a private Team or Teams Channel, only the people with access to that Team can see it.
  • If it was recorded in a public Team or Teams channel, everyone can potentially see it. 
  • You can also use the “Share” button to Share a recording with different people, groups, or channels. 
  • The privacy settings of your Team or Teams channel override the “Allow everyone…” checkbox. You may not have selected the “Allow everyone…” checkbox, but if you recorded the video in a public Team, the video is public. 

Instructions - How to prevent making recordings go public moving forward 

  1. Ensure you Teams are private. Limited membership does not mean a Private Team.  The Team Owner can change a Public Team to a Private Team.
  2. Refrain from sharing Teams Meetings URL to those outside of the meeting. 
  3. Verify the privacy settings of your Stream videos. 

More from Microsoft

More information on Stream video permissions, see this Microsoft help:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/stream/portal-permissions

100% helpful - 1 review

Details

Article ID: 953
Created
Thu 6/11/20 3:30 PM
Modified
Mon 7/20/20 10:11 AM