Sharing OneDrive files & folders

Collaborate on a Document

Individual document collaboration should be done in OneDrive rather than SharePoint. SharePoint collaboration is set by group permissions at the library level, not at the document level. Sharing an individual document from a SharePoint Library has long-lasting ramifications on the permissions of the entire library and should be avoided. 

At Acadia there are two types of SharePoint sites that dictate collaboration models:

  1. Department (internal to the department), and
  2. Projects/Committees (external to the department or the university)

If you require sharing external to your department on an on-going basis, a different type of internal department or project/committee site is required. If the collaboration is limited to a document (or a folder with only a few files and on a short term/ad-hoc basis), OneDrive is the appropriate method. 

Sharing (Share & Get Link) in OneDrive, at the document level. 

So what would be the right method to share a document with a colleague? If we hover over the document in OneDrive, we see two options:

  1. Share
  2. Get a link

Share

  1. Go to OneDrive and sign in with your work account.

  1. Select the file or folder you want to share, and then select Share.

Screenshot of sharing dialog box showing a sharing link for people inside the organization.

  1. Enter the names of the people you want to share with and a message, if you want.

  2. (Optional) Click the drop down list to change the type of link. The Details pane opens, where you can change who can access the link and whether people can edit the item you’re sharing.

    Options for Who would you like this link to work for (options vary based on admin settings):

    By default, Allow editing is turned on. If you want people to only view your files, uncheck the check box.

    When you're done, click Apply.

    • Anyone gives access to anyone who receives this link, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else. This may include people outside of your organization.

    • People in <Your Organization> gives everyone in your organization access to the link, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else.

    • Specific people gives access only to the people you specify, although other people may already have access. If people forward the sharing invitation, only people who already have access to the item will be able to use the link.

  3. When you’re ready to send the link, click Send.

Get a link to a file or folder that you can copy

Another way to share is to get a link to a file or folder that you can copy and paste in a text message or on a website. People you share these links with can also forward your link to others.

  1. In your OneDrive, click Copy link. The link is automatically copied to your clipboard.

    Screenshot of the copy link dialog box

  2. (Optional) Click the drop down list to change the type of link. The Details pane opens, where you can change who can access the link and whether people can edit the item you’re sharing.

    Options for Who would you like this link to work for (options vary based on admin settings):

    • Anyone gives access to anyone who receives this link, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else. This may include people outside of your organization.

    • People in <Your Organization> gives everyone in your organization access to the link, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else.

    • Specific people gives access only to the people you specify, although other people may already have access. If people forward the sharing invitation, only people who already have access to the item will be able to use the link.

    By default, Allow editing is turned on. If you want people to only view your files, uncheck the check box.

    When you're done, click Apply.

  3. Paste the link (Ctrl+V) to wherever you want, such as a text message or on a website.

 

Expiration Date

You can set an expiration date within OneDrive to stop the document from being shared. 

 

Notes: 

  • The permission granted by a sharing link lasts only as long as the link exists. For example, when a link is disabled, access is revoked (though people may still have access to the file via other means).

  • When Allow editing is selected: After they sign in, people in your organization can edit, copy, or download the files. When Allow editing isn’t selected, people in your organization can view, and may be able to copy or download the files.

  • You may be able to share files with external users (people not on your network) by inviting them as “Guests,” or by creating and posting guest links. These links are available by default in Office 365, but administrators can disable external sharing for your sites. For details, see Share sites or documents with people outside your organization.

 

Details

Article ID: 525
Created
Fri 12/1/17 2:32 PM
Modified
Thu 5/14/20 2:50 PM

Related Articles (1)